You should always update your copy of VFB Pro to the latest version. When a new version is available, you will be notified in two different ways: WordPress Dashboard and Email Notification.

There are two methods for updating - the easiest is the one-click update, which will work for most people. If it doesn't work, or you just prefer to be more hands-on, you can follow the manual update process.


Backup First

Be sure to export and verify all of your VFB Pro data before performing an update.


Dashboard Updates

  1. Login to your site and go to the Dashboard > Updates screen
  2. Once you are on the "WordPress Updates" page, find the Plugins section
  3. If an update is available for VFB Pro, you will see it listed
  4. Select the box next to the plugin and click the "Update Plugins” button
  5. Go to the Plugins screen in your WordPress dashboard and deactivate/reactivate VFB Pro to initiate the update procedure


Refresh Automatic Update Check

If you received the "New Downloads" email and do not see the automatic update available on your site yet, please try again later or press the Check Again button. By default, WordPress automatically checks for updates every 12 hours.


Manual Update

If you cannot or do not want to use the Dashboard to update the plugin, you will need to upload the files with an FTP client.

  1. Get the latest VFB Pro zip file
  2. Unzip the vfb-pro-x.x.zip file
  3. Using your FTP client, delete the old wp-content/plugins/vfb-pro directory on your web host
  4. Using your FTP client, upload the new vfb-pro directory to your web host, in place of the previous directory
  5. Go to the Plugins screen in your WordPress dashboard and deactivate/reactivate VFB Pro to initiate the update procedure


Troubleshooting

Scrambled Layout or Errors

If your site looks scrambled now or features line errors, it might be related to VFB Pro, but it could also be your theme or another plugin that is the culprit. In your WordPress Administration Panel, deactivate all plugins. Re-activate them one by one.


Reverting Back to Old Versions

While you can revert back (rollback), it's not usually recommended because newer versions often include security updates and a rollback may put your site at risk. Second, the change between the database structure between versions may cause complications in maintaining your site content, posts, comments, and plugins that are dependent upon the information stored in the database. If you are still intent on this, proceed at your own risk. Please note, that without a backup of your entire site and your database, made prior to your upgrade attempt, a successful rollback is near impossible. Remember, you must have good backups for the rollback to work.